Remove this ad

Lead

Jun 6 15 11:26 PM

Tags : :

Hi

Had first game using GDB Deluxe today and a couple of queries arose for which we could divine intent of rules.

1. Pg 94 rule 10.5 Priority Targets - is the list nos 1 -5 a hierarchy ? ie is 1 a higher priority than 3 etc ?

2. We really struggled with following also pg 94 rules 10.7 and 10.7A
This seem almost contradictory to a degree as 10.7 says you roll once against multiple targets splitting casulaties inflicted
However 10.7a states that units cannot Split fire unless unit is in specific formation ie in town or square

3. Re Order limitations and Commander abilities are we correct in saying for example that despite an Excellent Leader being allowed to conduct 3 Charges per turn he is limited by Orders such as Engage which only allows a single charge ?

4. In relation to Q2 we had further unresolved problems with how Skirmishers fire (think we both got headaches trying to sort this out)

As per below pic the French skirmishers have advanced to engage advancing Prussians.
However how do they fire here ?
Can they split their fire to shoot at the Coloumn of Companies and the Coloumn of Divisions (ie the units to left and right of wood) ?
10.7a seems to say no ?

Option A - They can choose either as target (an option open to skirmishers how are not bound by 10.5) firing with as many bases as are in arc and range, correct ??
Ie in the instance below they could bring to bear a max of 4 bases vs either target for 3 Dice

Option B - Do they fire whole unit at the Multiple targets presented splitting any casualties caused ??
Ie rolling 4 dice for the 6 bases but splitting casulaties between the two targets ?

Option C - ?????

We were stumped as to intent of rules and really wondered how a unit of say 20 Skirmishers would fire if they cannot or can split fire.
We debated wethther allowing them to split fire would make them too powerful ie if they could shoot at several units at once (of course dependant on dice generated etc) or conversely if forced to fire at only a single unit was too restrictive ?

image

 
Cheers
Gary
  
Quote    Reply   
Remove this ad
Remove this ad

#1 [url]

Jun 7 15 4:11 PM

Bonsoir Gary,


1. Pg 94 rule 10.5 Priority Targets - is the list nos 1 -5 a hierarchy ? ie is 1 a higher priority than 3 etc ?

Yep 1 is higher than 2 etc.

2. We really struggled with following also pg 94 rules 10.7 and 10.7A
This seem almost contradictory to a degree as 10.7 says you roll once against multiple targets splitting casulaties inflicted
However 10.7a states that units cannot Split fire unless unit is in specific formation ie in town or square

Understand the question. In essence you can only fire a unit at one target. There are exceptions as listed e.g. more than one side of a square firing or troops in a town firing out of 2 sides. Multiple targets in 10.7 is best demonstrated by thinking of a line firing at massed columns charging the unit so that the line cannot actually just fire at one column.

3. Re Order limitations and Commander abilities are we correct in saying for example that despite an Excellent Leader being allowed to conduct 3 Charges per turn he is limited by Orders such as Engage which only allows a single charge ?

My view is that the "Order" is more significant so under an Engage order despite an excellent general being capable of ordering up to 3 charges per turn he is only able to order ONE cavalry charge against formed units but note that it's different if charging unformed units! 

4. In relation to Q2 we had further unresolved problems with how Skirmishers fire (think we both got headaches trying to sort this out)

As per below pic the French skirmishers have advanced to engage advancing Prussians.
However how do they fire here ?
Can they split their fire to shoot at the Coloumn of Companies and the Coloumn of Divisions (ie the units to left and right of wood) ?
10.7a seems to say no ?

Option A - They can choose either as target (an option open to skirmishers how are not bound by 10.5) firing with as many bases as are in arc and range, correct ??
Ie in the instance below they could bring to bear a max of 4 bases vs either target for 3 Dice

Option B - Do they fire whole unit at the Multiple targets presented splitting any casualties caused ??
Ie rolling 4 dice for the 6 bases but splitting casulaties between the two targets ?

Option C - ?????

We were stumped as to intent of rules and really wondered how a unit of say 20 Skirmishers would fire if they cannot or can split fire.
We debated wethther allowing them to split fire would make them too powerful ie if they could shoot at several units at once (of course dependant on dice generated etc) or conversely if forced to fire at only a single unit was too restrictive ?

I'd say that the skirmish screen is just that so it can - should - fire at both columns and that's easy as you just roll 2 dice for each 6 figure group. Please refer to the Skirmish Priority Targets para 11.18 on page 114 which is helpful.

Have fun with this great set of rules.

Cheers,

Paul

  

Quote    Reply   
Add Reply

Quick Reply

bbcode help