Remove this ad

Lead

Oct 28 15 9:49 AM

Tags : :

Is it advisable to use full strength battalions for GdB?

As a GdB beginner, I have done an inventory of my miniatures and decided I want to build the Korps Tauzentzien that fought at Schleiz and formed the front at Jena. Early in the 1806 campaign, most battalions were close to their paper strength. The French battalions were beefed up by dividing the men of 3rd battalion over the first two of a regiment. French battalions had 8 companies of 120, plus a company of 80-90 grenadiers. Theoretically, this would translate as 8x6 and 1x4 figures, for a total of 52. In all scenarios and in the rulebook, the French have a maximum of 36 figures. I was able to get a hold of WI#158 with the Auerstedt scenario, and this has 36 too. When this is the absolute maximum for French troops, I should not use Saxons and Prussian troops at maximum strength either. It would mean that Saxons ought to be at 4x6 and Prussians at 5x6 or 4x8 if you use relative strengths (about 75% of full strength). Am I correct in my thinking? I would love to put a 40 (5x8) miniature Prussian musketeer unit on the table, but it would be wrong compared to French maximum strength.

Schleiz is an interesting little battle. Near the windmill at Oettersdorf, Saxon Chevauxlegers under Hochheim used their carbines at 60 paces to stop a Murat-led 4th Hussars charge, and countercharged from uphill. Murat narrowly escaped being taken prisoner. Belated reinforcements by the 27th Légère and the 5th Chasseurs à Cheval solved Murat's problems.

The Tauentzien Korps include one of the heroes of Jena, the "Aus dem Winkel" Saxon Grenadier Batallion, which protected the retreating/routing Prussian army by forming square and slowly moving towards Kapellendorf, music playing. Hohenlohe was inside the square and was given ample amounts of Aquavit by Oberstleutnant von Winkel until Rüchel's Corps arrived.

Eltjo

Quote    Reply   
Remove this ad
Remove this ad

#1 [url]