Remove this ad

Lead

Nov 20 16 4:59 AM

Tags : :

1) How do you resolve fire from Light Mortars (up to US 60mm in size)?  Do they fire on the Direct Fire Table, or do they use the Indirect Fire Process?  Is there a difference between the stand "self spotting" and using an observer when determining how to resolve the mortar's fire?  German FJ companies have a single stand of 8cm mortars.  In a game with 2 or more FJ companies, can these stands from the different companies be combined into a multi-stand battery?  Would this require any impetus?  Who would be legal observers for such a battery?  The mortars in question are NOT the battalion mortars from the weapons company, but an integral stand in the company HQ sections.


2) When a Platoon leader (Combat Group Leader) is lost, is it mandatory to replace it?  The replacement process indicates that a section from the platoon (combat group) is removed and the leader put back on the table in its place.  So, in effect, if you use promotion to replace a lost leader, you lose a section from that platoon (combat group)?  As an example, suppose a German MG Platoon (consisting of 3 MMG stands and a leader stand) has its leader stand Dispersed.  In the following Morale Phase, is the German player required to replace the leader stand by using promotion, thus removing one of the three MMG stands and replacing it with the old leader stand?  If the German player does NOT replace the leader, are the three MMG stands now forced to activate as Combat Groups of one stand each, or can they still activate as a single Combat Group so long as they are within 4" of one another?  Do they need to be in HQ Contact with a Company HQ (or BG HQ) to be eligible for activation if the platoon leader is not replaced? 

Guess that's technically more than 2 questions, but at least I've limited them to only 2 subjects.  Thanks for any assistance,


Doug
Quote    Reply   
Remove this ad
Remove this ad
avatar

DCRBrown

General de Division

Posts: 1,972

#1 [url]

Nov 22 16 2:41 PM

D,

That's about six questions!Wink02

How do you resolve fire from Light Mortars (up to US 60mm in size)?
They use the direct fire tables. There are some optional rules for the US 60mm.

Is there a difference between the stand "self spotting" and using an observer when determining how to resolve the mortar's fire? 
No - see p136 15.3. Its either /or.

In a game with 2 or more FJ companies, can these stands from the different companies be combined into a multi-stand battery?  Would this require any impetus?  Who would be legal observers for such a battery?  The mortars in question are NOT the battalion mortars from the weapons company, but an integral stand in the company HQ sections.
I would be flexible here and you could choose to either group your HQ mortars into a battery or keep them as individual assets prior to the start of the game. However if your FJ companies were attacking on differing axis or widely separated them keep them as single sections.

When a Platoon leader (Combat Group Leader) is lost, is it mandatory to replace it?
PC replacement is not mandatory - its the player choice - see p49 6.3a.

If the German player does NOT replace the leader, are the three MMG stands now forced to activate as Combat Groups of one stand each, or can they still activate as a single Combat Group so long as they are within 4" of one another?  Do they need to be in HQ Contact with a Company HQ (or BG HQ) to be eligible for activation if the platoon leader is not replaced?
They can still activate as a combat group as long as they remain within 4" of each other. They don't need impetus unless o/s of the HQ, as per normal. (p53 6.5D)
Adding additional HQ impetus can have an effect on a combat group without a leader, depending on nationality - see p45 5.8.

DB

Last Edited By: DCRBrown Nov 22 16 2:44 PM. Edited 2 times.

Quote    Reply   
Add Reply

Quick Reply

bbcode help