Remove this ad

Lead

Jun 3 17 8:44 AM

Tags : :

Played our first game of GdA and found it most satisfying Dave - so well done on the rules. However, some queries came up that we couldn't find an answer to and would appreciate your views?

1. We had cavalry charging two squares and there was one supporting unit behind those squares. Do both squares count support from that same unit or only one? We played that it could only support one of the squares.

2. We had an infantry unit in line charging two squares simultaneously - is that allowed? Or does the line charge only one of those squares? We allowed it to charge both.

3. Just a question on sequencing - we had cavalry charge a square and were beaten back. All happens before movement and firing. Then the question was raised during the firing phase whether the guns could fire at the square that had been charged earlier in the turn and beaten off the cavalry. We decided not to blow it thinking that the charge had happened in the same time frame as the firing would have occurred but not sure if that is right?

Thanks
Joe 



Quote    Reply   
Remove this ad
Remove this ad
avatar

DCRBrown

General de Division

Posts: 1,971

#1 [url]

Jun 4 17 9:39 AM

Thnaks Joe,

I think you have most of it correct!

We had cavalry charging two squares and there was one supporting unit behind those squares. Do both squares count support from that same unit or only one? We played that it could only support one of the squares.
Correct - one support provides just one reroll. So the defender would need to nominate which square was to be supported.

We had an infantry unit in line charging two squares simultaneously - is that allowed? Or does the line charge only one of those squares? We allowed it to charge both.
Correct - the line can charge both, though one square would still be classed as a support.

we had cavalry charge a square and were beaten back. All happens before movement and firing. Then the question was raised during the firing phase whether the guns could fire at the square that had been charged earlier in the turn and beaten off the cavalry. We decided not to blow it thinking that the charge had happened in the same time frame as the firing would have occurred but not sure if that is right?
Almost correct! In fact, you can as charges are deemed to be ahead of normal movement and firing - see Charges p26.

DB




Quote    Reply   
Add Reply

Quick Reply

bbcode help